Changes in USDA Maps for Property Eligibility

For years San Antonio lenders have been able to provide 100% financing to borrowers under the USDA Rural Housing program. However, through recent census data many of the areas that were once eligible are no longer considered "rural."

New mapping shows everything within the 410 loop is not eligible as well as everything inside the 1604 loop from Hwy 90. Outside the 1604 loop the cities that are now mostly excluded are Schertz, Cibolo, Converse, Garden Ridge, Northcliff, New Braunfels and Seguin. These new guidelines will go into effect October 1.

For more details and to see the map go to and click on "future eligibility areas."

In addition, as always there are very specific guidelines for income requirements as well. Those guidelines can be reviewed on that site as well.